M & M Home Inspections

M & M Home Inspections Home & Commercial Inspections
(10)

We love that we are one of Rochester’s most trusted home inspectors, and we want to keep it that way. When you hire us to inspect a property, you can be sure that your inspection report will be thorough, detailed, and accurate. As home inspectors, our job is to take as much of the guesswork out of the home buying process as possible. When you know that your home inspector has made a thorough and comprehensive inspection, you can confidently make your decision about whether or not to purchase the home.

Operating as usual

1st inspection of the day! Changing the way Inspections are done in Upstate New York- M&M Home Inspections
06/13/2020

1st inspection of the day! Changing the way Inspections are done in Upstate New York-
M&M Home Inspections

05/22/2020
With Spring coming it's the perfect time to think about your roof
03/31/2020
Inspecting Flat Roof Coverings

With Spring coming it's the perfect time to think about your roof

Inspecting Flat Roof Coverings Flat roof systems and coveri...

M & M Home Inspections
03/24/2020

M & M Home Inspections

3rd Inspection of the day!We are ready when you are Rochester!! Give us a Call😁 585-764-8028
02/22/2020

3rd Inspection of the day!
We are ready when you are Rochester!! Give us a Call😁 585-764-8028

Sometimes I'm doing an Inspection and I see something that just cracks me up!
01/25/2020

Sometimes I'm doing an Inspection and I see something that just cracks me up!

01/05/2020
12/10/2019

It's a Great day at M&M Home Inspections

12/10/2019
Rose Buckley - MD Home Inspector

My friend Rose.....with a neat little trick for home buyers!

Leaving clues to protect my clients from untrustworthy contractors 😉⚡️

First Inspection of the day in Pittsford....Thank you Rochester for making us your #1 choice for Home Inspections!
10/16/2019

First Inspection of the day in Pittsford....
Thank you Rochester for making us your #1 choice for Home Inspections!

09/08/2019

Back from Labor Day Fly fishing trip in Utah.....and raring to Go!
Can we help with your Inspection this week??
585-288-8530

08/28/2019

Cmon people!!!
If you haven't liked our page....you are really missing out on some great tips!!

07/22/2019

Happy cool rainy Monday morning Rochester ....we're ready to inspect you!

07/10/2019

We are Rochesters
#1 Choice
For Home Inspections

07/03/2019
04/30/2019

Proper Air Sealing & Moisture Control

Some home inspectors also perform Energy Star ratings or Energy Score evaluations. Some states are requiring more than just Energy Star. They are adopting a score evaluation for all homes. Soon these “scores” will be part of the properties profile, and used when the house is listed for sale. Most home inspectors do not do this type of testing which is above the requirements of a visual home inspection. However air loss and moisture intrusion can become a very important part of a home inspection. Moisture entering a house, whether as a leak or because of condensation creates issues that are detrimental to the building. Mold, wet / dry rot, Sick Building Syndrome, and other serious issues can occur. We are starting to see this in newer homes as we do with homes constructed in the 70’s and 80’s. These homes are designed to be “tight” and energy efficient. Many older homes do not experience these types of moisture issues because of the air loss resulting in the areas in question drying out before the moisture becomes a problem. It is not trapped and air (leaks) will dry it out. There are issues that we may not be able to see during a visual home inspection. Some of these are: air barrier, which should be continuous, insulation installed properly, vapor barrier in the proper place / orientation, flashing, etc. So many things that effect air sealing / loss and moisture intrusion that we cannot see. Energy Star has a checklist that inspectors use when performing an inspection. This is also good information for a home inspector. You can find this list by clicking on this link: CLICK HERE
Without being able to see some of the areas where these problems may have originated, what can a home inspector look for:

Garage band joist
Floor above garage
Attic knee walls
Skylight shaft walls
Wall adjoining porch roof
Basement / crawl space band joists
Crawl space walls (foam is the best choice for this application)
Slab – edge insulation
Look for thermal bridging in attic space
Insulation should not have gaps
Cantilevered areas are properly insulated with vapor barrier
At least a 6 mil vapor barrier on dirt craw space floors
Openings to unconditioned spaces are fully sealed
Attic access panel is insulated
Attic drop down stairs are fully insulated
Recessed lighting properly sealed (must be IC rated)
Whole house fan cover is insulated
Common wall between dwelling units is insulated and fire rated
Pipe / shaft penetrations are properly sealed (fire caulk / sealant if necessary

First inspection of the day....its april and its snowing......dang!!
04/10/2019

First inspection of the day....its april and its snowing......dang!!

Masonry Fireplace InspectionA great article by my friend David ClarkMany real estate listings when describing the firepl...
03/12/2019

Masonry Fireplace Inspection

A great article by my friend David Clark

Many real estate listings when describing the fireplace put an acronym: NRTC (Not Represented To Code). The reason for this is that wood burning fireplaces are not technically “grandfathered” in many areas. So if a chimney or other fire occurs, it may not be covered by insurance. Some home inspectors are certified for fireplace inspections. Many are not, however I am always asked by my clients; “can I burn wood in it?” I know many home inspectors inform their client that the fireplace inspection is based on “component” condition, not on functionality. Although this is the correct answer, it does not answer the question they asked. There are things we can look for that will indicate if the unit should be safe for operation. Even if this is the case, if your client is planning on using the fireplace for wood burning, it would be advantageous for them to get something in writing from a certified fireplace inspector. This documentation may be necessary for insurance purposes. Here is what a home inspector should look for regarding masonry fireplaces:

· The fireplace hearth should also be masonry and be at least 4 inches thick and 20 inches deep.
· Any hearth extension should be masonry and be at leas t 2 inches thick, extend at least 16” in front, and 8” to each side of the fireplace opening if the fireplace has an area of less than 6 square feet
· If the area of the firebox is more than 6 square feet, the hearth extension should extend at least 20” in front and 12” to each side of the fireplace opening
· There should not be a gap between the hearth and the hearth extension
· No combustible materials should be below the hearth extension
· Firebox masonry walls should be at least 8 inches thick and lined with 2” firebrick. If firebrick is not used the masonry walls should be 10” thick
· The bricks / masonry should not be cracked or damaged. Mortar joints should be in good condition with no gaps
· Mortar joints should be no larger than ¼ “ thick
· Steel fireboxes should not be damaged or separated in any areas
· Look for metal tags on newer units, indicating code compliance and proper clearances
· If a lintel is installed over the firebox, it should be in good condition and extend approximately 4 inches on each side
· The damper should operate freely and close / open completely
· Use caution and open first before looking up the flue pipe
· Extreme caution should be used when opening a damper that is located at the chimney top. I do not recommend pulling the chain on these types of dampers.
· The firebox surround should also be constructed of non-combustible material (brick, tile, slate, concrete, etc..)
· Look for an ash clean-out door within 6 inches of the flue base

Doing an Inspection on the lake in Hilton....24 degrees.....stiff wind....I'm ready!
02/16/2019

Doing an Inspection on the lake in Hilton....24 degrees.....stiff wind....I'm ready!

11/30/2018
11/02/2018

Tech Tips

Light Fixture Location Inspection

There are certain areas that light fixtures should be installed. Clients always ask me; “should a light be there”. As I always state we are not conducting a code inspection, however there are areas that should have lights and some of these areas require a specific type of light. A wall switched controlled light should be installed in every habitable room, including bathrooms. It should be a permanently installed light fixture on a ceiling or wall in kitchens and baths. Other rooms may have light fixtures controlled by a switched receptacle. Exterior stairways should have a light near the top of the landing. Exterior stairways to a basement should have the light at the bottom landing. Exterior light switches should be located on the interior. Other places and specific type of lighting and fixtures should be in the following locations:



Interior stairway lights should be capable of lighting all steps and landings
There should be a light switch controlling the light at the top and bottom of the staircase if there are six or more steps.
There should be a light in all basements, attics, and crawl spaces if the area is used for storage or if there is equipment that may require service. The switch should be at the opening to the area. A pull chain can be used if the light is located near the opening. The light fixture should be located near the appliance for service purposes
Any light fixture, or part of (fan blades, etc.), should not be within 3 feet horizontally or and 8 feet vertically from the tub rim or shower threshold
Any fixture in the shower / tub area should be rated for damp or wet locations locations. Many of these fixtures have glass covers and rubber seals
Light fixtures with exposed incandescent bulbs should not be located inside a closet
Surface mounted incandescent and LED fixtures should not be located within 12 inches from the closet storage areas
Surface mounted fluorescent fixtures and recessed incandescent, LED, and fluorescent fixtures should not be located within 6 inches from the closet storage areas

Just inspected this house in Fairport...built in 1862
10/20/2018

Just inspected this house in Fairport...built in 1862

Nothing quite like inspecting a 7,000 sq ft. House......it was lovely!
07/27/2018

Nothing quite like inspecting a 7,000 sq ft. House......it was lovely!

This is our 1st inspection in Pittsford..... on a totally booked Saturday.........we love you Rochester, thank you for m...
07/21/2018

This is our 1st inspection in Pittsford..... on a totally booked Saturday.........we love you Rochester, thank you for making us your favorite home inspection company

06/27/2018
Batter Up!!  First of 3 Home Inspections today!Thanks Rochester for Choosing M&M Home Inspections!!
06/22/2018

Batter Up!! First of 3 Home Inspections today!
Thanks Rochester for Choosing M&M Home Inspections!!

Good Morning Upstate NY!!M&M Home inspections is doing the Leroy home built in 1876
06/21/2018

Good Morning Upstate NY!!
M&M Home inspections is doing the Leroy home built in 1876

Address

163 Empire Blvd
Rochester, NY
14609

Opening Hours

Monday 08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 08:00 - 19:00
Thursday 08:00 - 19:00
Friday 08:00 - 19:00
Saturday 08:00 - 19:00

Telephone

(585) 288-8530

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when M & M Home Inspections posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to M & M Home Inspections:

Category

Nearby realtors & realty services


Comments

Awesome guy, with alot of experience